(UPDATED): WOMEN – We are amazing.

I’m inspired by many strong women (my two grandmothers and grandmother-in-law are three of the most incredibly strong, smart and savvy women I know – I promise to share more about them in this blog. They are sure to inspire us all) and especially now, in 2012, women are doing it ALL. We are multi-taskers, homemakers, working girls (many “bringing home the bacon” for their families), mothers (aunts, sisters, grandmothers, daughters, wives, etc) and we can do the majority of things that men can do (except lift a refrigerator – I tried last night and had to call my brother over to lift it. I was, however, able to slide it across the hardwood floor into my kitchen on a moving blanket once my brother put said refrigerator down. PLEASE NOTE: I am aware that many women can, in fact, lift a refrigerator – I cannot).

Although I have plenty of people to be inspired by, I find that my short term memory (I really do suffer from this, even though my husband likes to say I just don’t listen – THE GALL!) and the over inundation of information FREEZES my ability to put things into action. We’ve all heard the saying, “IMITATION is the highest form of flattery,” but if you cannot remember what you “liked” or thought was a good idea, what is the use? Enter PINTEREST…

Oh how you are changing my life. You’ve organized my interests, likes and thoughts and this blog is where I plan on sharing how you are making me a better woman – Like my dad’s mom, I’m enjoying cooking and making my home a comforting and cozy hangout (and my husband is actually enjoying my food/able to consume it without choking). Like my mom’s mom, I’m leading a healthier life and pinning all sorts of ideas for my future, nonexistent, children (My mom is one of 7 children). And I’m finally feeling like I can balance a very busy – and successful – work life with a busy – and amazing – home life like my grandmother-in-law. Who knows, maybe one day someone will PIN ThePinterestWoman!

And so it begins…

Rosie The Riveter. Image taken from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:We_Can_Do_It!.jpg

Thank you to Sadie, at Sadie & Dasie (http://sadieanddasie.wordpress.com/#) for being my first official “Like” on my blog. You have not only inspired me to get this Part B of my first post up, but you’ve also given me a few ideas for my soon-to-be mud-room! I’ve pinned your mudrooms photos on my own Pinterest page and plan on using some of those adorable hook ideas for my own…I’ll be sure to blog about that in the near future. For those that are interested, check out Sadie’s Mudroom post here: http://sadieanddasie.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/mudrooms/

Oh, and please click the big red P in my sidebar and join Pinterest if you have a minute!

Leave a Reply

