Wiggle, Wiggle, Wiggle…YEAH! – HAPPY FRIDAY WORKOUT

Well one thing is for sure, cooking more is not helping with my “front hump,” SO, I thought I would dedicate one day a week to workouts I find on Pinterest. I enjoy mixing up my workout and for the month of August I decided I would take up Boxing – not cardio kick boxing or private boxing, but BOXING. I am full on punching and kicking people. Great fun, until you get partnered up with someone that is bigger than you. Case in point, three nights ago I was partnered up with someone that was a bit bigger than me and new to boxing. SO, when we were sparing, she punched me in the ribs – that is a NO NO. WELL, I haven’t been able to breathe deep breathes since and IT HURTS like the dickens.  ENTER PINTEREST.

Since the boxing gym is my gym, I needed some at-home exercises to help mix up my workout regime this month. Search terms I’ve used are:

  • At Home Workouts
  • Cardio workouts
  • Running workouts

But this particular workout was already pinned by someone I’m following so I thought I’d share with you!

KILLER KARDIO from Fantasmo.blogspot.com. HOLY COW:

I tried it last weekend and it KICKED my butt..I will definitely do this again this weekend. I do not have a treadmill at home, but I do have a stationary bike so I just sprinted (and casually road because I was dying) on the bike for the 10 minute “running” portions. I think my favorite part is the end “Congratulations, you didn’t die.”

I just propped the above photo up on my laptop screen and Googled a countdown timer (found this: http://www.online-stopwatch.com/countdown-timer/) and opened it side by side. I added 46minutes to the timer and went for it. This timer allowed me to follow the regimen without stopping. If you don’t have a treadmill, stationary bike or other workout machine at home, run around the block for 10 minutes. And if you do not have a jump rope, well as they scream in my boxing class, THEN JUST JUMP UP AND DOWN!!  It is worth it!

Anyhoo, I hope you have a fabulous time this weekend and enjoy an extra long workout with no “gotta get to work” or “gotta leave the gym after work to get home” thoughts running through your head. For those that are not parents but lead busy lives, my tip on the weekend is to wake up in the morning and put on your workout clothes (if your morning activities allow for workout wear attire). That way, when you get an hour or two you have NO excuse. JUST DO IT!

…and if you do…and you don’t die…try this recipe from The Whimsical Cupcake as a treat (sooo not helping in the workout arena)! I am a bit scared about making the bread portion of this, BUT I have family visiting so I think I might try this as a special treat over the weekend: http://thewhimsicalcupcake.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/lemon-scented-pull-apart-coffee-cake/. I’ll be sure to report back on how it went. Think happy thoughts for me please!

HAPPY FRIDAY FRIENDS!

XO, Karen

The original blog post about KILLER KARDIO is here: http://fantasmo.blogspot.com.au/2012/03/sweating-my-way-through.html (I recommend reading Amber’s post as it is a great post about happy weight/goal weight!)

One thought on “Wiggle, Wiggle, Wiggle…YEAH! – HAPPY FRIDAY WORKOUT

Leave a Reply

