“What do you like better, Christmas or Wedding Season?”

OK, well, that isn’t really a fair question because I absolutely LOVE Christmas, but since I have quite a bit of time to share my obsession for the holiday, let’s “grab that net and catch that beautiful butterfly, pal!” (Ok, ok, I’ll stop quoting Wedding Crashers). SO, Mr. Darcy and I are back from the wedding and what a wedding it was! The wedding was in Carmel, Ca at the Carmel Mission Basilica. For those of you not from California, the missions are such a big part of our history. In fact, I just found out that only students in CA have to do projects on the missions (in 4th grade at my school). My East Coast friends knew nothing about this. Anyhoo, I just found out the Basilica is the 2nd mission that was ever built…CHECK OUT THIS PHOTO:

image

The ceremony

Could you imagine if this was the church you got married in?! STUNNING! And the colors  – WOW! When you get married in a place like this you have to do little for décor. I, too, took advantage of a church’s décor during my wedding to cut some costs. The church my husband grew up attending FILLS the church with Christmas Trees during the holidays. Since we were getting married in December, I knew it would be filled with the delicious smelling trees so I did not need to invest in flowers for the church. Little did I know the day – ONE DAY – before my wedding, the Deacon would call to tell me the Christmas Tree Lot that usually donates the trees went out of business so there would be no trees, but I digress ;-).

The wedding was followed by cocktails, dinner and dancing at Clint Eastwood’s Mission Ranch: http://www.missionranchcarmel.com/ – HOLY MOLEY , this place was stunning. I wanted to hole up in a little cottage that was on the ranch (see directly below) but since it was already rented by an adorable elderly couple, I made Mr. Darcy promise he would book it for our 5 year wedding anniversary (Since this December 11th marks our 2 year anniversary, will someone please remind me in November 2015 that Mr. Darcy and I promised we’d do this?! OOOOh, I’m going to pin it right now…hold please….ok, PINNED!!!)

image

Surroundings of the reception area

I cannot say enough about how stunning this property is. This is a shot from the walkway that goes between the reception area and a restaurant that turns into a piano bar at night (yes, that is where the after party took place and the bride and groom had generously ordered additional late-night snacks for all of us piano-singing fools).

image

1 of 3 playful flower girls running by the reception area – LOOK AT THAT VIEW!!!

I also loved the bar area so I had to snap a quick photo because it was so simple and gave me an idea for my own house. The Ranch placed Christmas lights on the back of the bar where the glasses were stored. The lights cascaded off of the glasses and made for such a pretty backdrop. Now I want to do this in my hutch during the holidays!!! I will pin this with the Pinterest App to remember for later.

image

The bar – LOVE the big white barn lighting. The Christmas lights were simply laid on top of glass shelves where the glasses were sitting and hanging making for a cascade of white lights that perfectly contrasted with the dark wood of the barn…Simple, yet gorgeous.

Now, this wedding was on a Friday and I must say, I was a big fan of the Friday wedding! It gave me an excuse to take a day off of work and it made the weekend feel LOOOONG! In fact, I had never been to Carmel so I loved that the bride and groom made plans for the entire weekend that were very CARMEL! They set up a wine tasting tour on Saturday early afternoon, then planned a bonfire at the beach that night. Mr. Darcy and I only went to the first winery – Chateau Julien* because we wanted to spend some time walking around the ADORABLE downtown Carmel (uhm, it was SUPER pricey, but we thoroughly enjoyed the little bakery’s on the street, lol) and then took a long walk on the beach which was FILLED with families and dogs (Carmel is a VERY dog friendly town – we only wished we had thought to bring our little one).

image

Chateau Julien Winery in Carmel, Ca – DAY 2

If you aren’t familiar with Carmel, it is where Pebble Beach is…and you do not need to be a fan of golfing to appreciate the amazing landscaping that goes into a course like Pebble Beach:

image

Bonfire beach – Yep, that is Pebble Beach way off in the distance. Mr. Darcy and I walked right up to it…incredible!

Mr. Darcy and I had a fabulous time and were sad to leave…both because of the FUN wedding festivities and because my nephew (and sister and bro-in-law) were in Carmel at the same time and we hated leaving them (look at the little hat my Godmom made for my nephew from a photo my sister pinned on Pinterest – yes, we sneak onto one another’s Pinterest boards to get ideas for what we each like, we are sneaky like that):

PUMPKINS!!!

We are home now and I’ve been doing QUITE a bit of ThePinterestWoman blog post prep – I went on a huge grocery shopping spree this morning and I’ve already made a to-go breakfast for the week, a no-bread pizza and prepped dinner for tonight! I look forward to sharing updates on how those activities went! OH, and I went to the mall today to run a few errands and I utilized the PINTEREST App to pin a few outfits as I window shopped in real time…check them out:

HAPPY FIRST FOOTBALL SUNDAY (aka lazy Sunday mornings as Mr. Darcy enjoys the Sunday football package and entertaining our little one, while I recreate Pins ;-)). Our little one is going crazy so I better sign off and take her for a run. Chat with you tomorrow!

XOXO, Karen

P.S. Since I am not planning a wedding or helping with one any time soon, I had to share one of the most creative “Will you be my bridesmaid?” requests I’ve ever received. This is what my good friend sent me to ask me to be in her wedding, it made me smile and continues to (it is proudly displayed on my fridge):

image

Will you be my bridesmaid?

*They were setting up for a wedding when we were tasting wine and it looked like it was going to be such a neat event. First, the venue was gorgeous, BUT the bride and groom rented vintage furniture to create seating around the dance floor and outside of the winery to create additional seating for guests. I took a bunch of pictures as they unloaded the truck because I was so impressed that you can actually RENT this stuff…If you are in the Bay Area the company delivering the furniture is called One True Love Vintage Rentals: http://onetruelovevintage.com/ I’m sure it costs a bloody fortune, but SOOO SO pretty! See, NOW I want to do my wedding again!!!

image

RENTALS: Vintage chairs and tables for creating an extra sitting area at winery

image

They had SO much stuff…I only wish we could have stayed to see how they set it up!!

Leave a Reply

