HAIR…Flow it, show it, Long as God can grow it…My hair

Today was just one of those mornings. I hit snooze more times than I’m willing to admit and my guilty conscious prioritized taking our little one on a walk over getting snazzy for work (something I’m now regretting since I just had a meeting with my boss and he kept looking at my head – I will explain below- AND I’m meeting Charlotte for lunch in downtown SF). Anyhoo, I thought it was a good idea this morning so I decided I would just throw my hair up into a ponytail and FINALLY experiment with the sock bun. WHAT?! You haven’t heard of the sock bun!? Hahaha, j/k. WELL…

This Summer Mr. Darcy and I had the pleasure of going to Maui, Hawaii and I was set on finding no fuss hair styles and easy makeup solutions. My girlfriend told me about the SOCK BUN look and I Pinned it for later. I never had a chance to try it in Hawaii because I didn’t bring socks with me (flip flops and cute sandals for this lady) and Mr. Darcy wasn’t willing to let me cut up his socks – darn him! BUT, after surfing PINTEREST (part of my morning routine) I decided I would throw my hair in the sock bun and pull it out as soon as I got to work…

SOCK BUN TUTORIAL:

Here is how mine turned out…

image

My Sock Bun

Well at least now I can do the Princess Leia look if I need a Halloween costume idea!

image

Front AND Back – DANG look at those deep wrinkles in my forehead. By posting this photo to my blog, I’m telling you that I love you, dear readers, more than you know.

JUST in case my hour prep and commute time was not enough to give me those beautiful curls, I decided to try and copy a look* from Pinterest that featured a bun – see below:

Pinned this look because I thought it was so preppy, cute and simple!

Well, apparently you DO need to sleep on this look so this is what I look like today (hence why my boss could not stop looking at my head):

image

My best Breakfast At Tiffany’s interpretation

Well, as I embark on a trip into the City and a long day in the office, I will just embrace it and pretend I’m Kim Kardashian, or some other celebrity that can throw their hair into God knows what style and pull it off. I promise to photograph the after shot once I pull it out…something tells me, mine is not going to turn out in flowing curls like the girls in the video…hmmm.

XOXO, Karen

*This look came from this website: http://prettystuff.tumblr.com/post/17574412207/hautemamasfaves-perfect

Leave a Reply

