Just call me Julia…

Tonight was a big night for me! I made, wait for it, PESTO…from scratch. Wait, I don’t think you understand, that is HUGE for me. Pesto is definitely something I never thought I’d be able to make. I must admit, it tasted nothing like pesto, BUT, it taught me a lot AND whatever it was, was good, hahaha.

Although I had my doubts, this Cilantro Lime Chicken dish was recommended as easy: http://joelens.blogspot.com/2010/05/cilantro-lime-chicken-tacos.html. It was…in theory! To those new chefs trying things out, I’ll admit, when the recipe called for a cup of Cilantro leaves, I just ripped the leaves off and threw them in a measuring cup. Mr. Darcy informed me that I probably needed to pack the leaves in a bit more because it could have used a little more cilantro. AND, to make it feel a little more taco appropriate, I may put more lime in the next time – there will be a next time. But LOOK, it actually looks like PESTO (can you tell I’m proud of myself?!):

Image

PESTO!!!

Since the recipe tells you to cut up the chicken and cook it, it is a pretty quick cooking recipe and great for an after work dinner – even if they are more heavily garlic than cilantro flavored! I’ll let you know how the leftovers are because I made enough for lunch tomorrow. And, to keep me on this new healthy eating kick, we swapped a few things:

  • Iceberg lettuce in place of tortillas
  • Greek Yogurt in place of sour cream
  • Reduced fat shredded cheese instead of regular shredded cheese

I paired it with this Balsamic Parm cauliflower (YUMMMM): http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/balsamic_parmesan_roasted_cauliflower.html

All in all, we ate, I learned and we didn’t hurt ourselves trying ;-). HAPPY COOKING DEAR READERS!!!

XOXO, Karen

Leave a Reply

