Nora and Tony – Naming Revelation

I am loving the challenge of coming up with names for my loved ones – most of them don’t even know I’m blogging or haven’t seen my blog and I want to respect that they may or may not appreciate the public sharing of my thoughts on our activities together, ha! But I digress.

Mr. Darcy was easy. I’m a huge fan of literature (regularly reading two or three books at a time – which does get confusing, yes) and love the witty parallels between Pride and Prejudice and Bridget Jones Diary, BJD (After Funny Girl, BJD and Love Actually are definitely in my top list of fave movies). In my Mr. Darcy’s defense, he never hurt my pride. BUT we simply took a LONG time to figure out that we were meant to be. And to me, he is the most handsome, kind and loving mate a person could have.

But, I have to admit, the rest of the names have been a bit difficult, especially when I attempted to find a name that also described them. Case in point, my parents. It took me awhile to come up with the best names for them. HOWEVER, I think I have finally figured it out!!!

  • My Mom – Nora. She is TOTALLY Sally Field’s character Nora Walker on “Brothers & Sisters.” She loves having us kids around and enjoys creating a happy home. Even as we grow, marry and have children of our own, my mom also maintains her Irish Catholic guilt skills and worries about us like young children. She is a kick and as I grow older and wiser, I am regularly embarrassed by the way I’ve acted towards her. Teen/College girls can be so mean to their parents! She and my dad have given me SO much and I am eternally grateful. It’s pretty awesome to have such a doting mom. And, as I catch up on the “Brothers & Sisters” series on Netflix, I am regularly associating episode happenings to my life, ha!
  • My Dad – TONY, Oh my dad is TOTALLY “Tony” Micelli (Danza). Although TOTALLY Irish and not Italian, my father is Tony. My sister once made the connection when “Who’s the Boss” was still a show, and it remains a true comparison to this day. Everyone who meets him, loves him. When we were younger, he was over protective. He always made us feel so safe and loved. Even now, with husbands and homes of our own, my dad regularly comes to the “rescue” of my sister and I. Without him, my house may not be painted, I’d still have the original window coverings and lighting throughout the house and a random room that was placed on the back of my house would not be torn down and shining light into my front room.

Anyhoo, this is a random post, I know, but I was so proud of this naming revelation, that I had to share my thoughts! 😉

I hope you all have a lovely day!

XOXO, Karen

“It is a truth universally acknowledged that the moment one area of your life goes okay, the other falls spectacularly to pieces,” said Renee Zellweger in her voice over in the opening of Bridget Jones Diary. I’m so glad, in the end, that movie shows Bridget that her opening line is a grand overstatement.

Leave a Reply

