Flat Screens Are Killing TV Armoires

It’s BIRTHDAY Eve dear readers and I have QUITE a night ahead of me:

  • Mr. Darcy and I are going to pick up dinner and enjoy a cozy night at home with our little one
  • Open and enjoy one of our favorite bottles of wine – There are quite a few, but we will probably open a Malbec from Mendoza tonight and…
  • WATCH our boys beat them Reds!!!

GOOO GIANTS!!!! COME ON GUYS, I KNOW YOU CAN DO IT!

Last night I had drinks with my girlfriend, Mr. Darcy and I will celebrate tonight with our boys & little one, tomorrow morning Jessica and I are going to breakfast (I LOVE going out to breakfast – it is my favorite meal of the day), my fam is taking me out to dinner, Friday I get to see my extended fam at my GMa’s house and Saturday is THE FIESTA!!! WHOO – Watch out world, I’m turning 30!!!

There is something about turning 30 that is making me want to organize – maybe it is this blog – maybe it is a combination. But either way, I have been storing Fiesta supplies in our garage and it is KILLING me how messy it is. SO, this weekend while taking inventory of party supplies, I started to clean out the garage (this is going to be a HUGE undertaking, so I’m starting small). I have two pieces of furniture that I have been meaning to put up on Craigslist since we moved in (yes, over a year ago) and they are taking up SO much space. I tried posting them to Craigslist right when we moved in, but it is such a crowded space. My sister once recommended that I put the images of my furniture up with ideas for DIY projects and I haven’t gotten around to it…until this weekend!

SO, I have a TV armoire/cabinet and after a quick PINTEREST search:

SEARCH TERMS:

  • DIY TV armoire
  • DIY TV Cabinet
  • TV Cabinet

I found these ADORABLE ideas:

Dress Up Closet/Regular Closet for your child’s room: http://www.vixenmade.com/2012/03/dress-up-closet.html

OK, not a TV armoire, but adorable idea!

Armoire Bar: http://www.shelterness.com/diy-home-bar-cabinet-from-ab-armoire/

This one is my fave. If I had space, I would keep the armoire myself and make this…especially because my armoire is perfect for this!

HIDDEN OFFICE SPACE: http://indulgy.com/post/CTKtmeEUL1/diy-ideas-for-your-home-turn-a-retired-tv-cabine

This one is AWESOME! My cabinet is a bit lower, but for a more advanced DIYer, it is totally doable!

So, why am I sharing this with you?! Because in addition to thinking these are CUTE ideas and something you guys could potentially do with your old TV stands (isn’t it so weird that our technology is changing home design?! With wall mounted flat screens, TV armoires are going into extinction) I had to share this amazing DIY website I found while surfing Pinterest for armoire ideas: http://www.do-it-yourselfdesign.blogspot.com. Someone should give this woman a show – she is AMAZING. Sometimes DIYers on Pinterest stress me out, because their designs are really NOT that easy. BUT, this woman, makes it seem so easy!

Once things die down and I have time, I am TOTALLY trying her DIY closet makeover: http://www.do-it-yourselfdesign.blogspot.com/2012/06/bi-fold-closet-door-makeover.html

SO, here is to a clutter free and fabulous birthday eve!!!

XOXO, Karen

Leave a Reply

