Hunter Pence’s Words To Live By

I hope you all tuned in to see the SF Giants beat the Reds last night – wahoo!!! As yesterday’s post noted, WE ARE NOT DONE YET!!! Mr. Darcy and I have faith in our boys and will be rooting for them until the end…which we hope isn’t until after the World Series! 😉

I’m on cloud 9 and hope that my 30th birthday will bring as much luck to the Giants as my birthday eve did! I think some of that luck also came from Hunter Pence’s awesome inspirational speech before the game. According to 3rd base coach Tim Flannery, we “heard” Hunter did the following before last night’s game:

“Get in here, everyone get in here..look into each other eyes..now! Look into each others eyes, I want one more day with you, it’s the most fun, the best team I have ever been on,” said the Reverend Hunter Pence.  “And no matter what happens we must not give in, we owe it to each other, play for each other, I need one more day with you guys, I need to see what Theriot (Jerry) will wear tomorrow, I want to play defense behind Vogelsong because he’s never been to the playoffs..play for each other not yourself, win each moment, win each inning, it’s all we have left”…………

The 3rd base coach explained, “for me an old coach it moved me like I have never been moved before…purity, real, passion, soul. the last of the holdouts this Pence..no arrows being shot, no hey look at me, no spotlight on me, no dance but “play for each other”…honor the game the game honors you..don’t know where and when it ends, but tonight I was proud to be together as a team, in a hostile environment, with just us..brothers that play for the name on the front, not the name on the back.”

CHILLS!!! I love these guys (yep, Pence has only been with us for a few weeks and he fell in love to. I don’t blame him ;-).)

GOOOOOO GIANTS!!!

XO, Karen

Leave a Reply

