Nom Nom Nom: Pesto Pasta with Chicken Sausage & Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Mmm, this recipe was going around Pinterest last week and it looked too good to pass up!

Although I think this recipe would be DELISH as is, I had similar ingredients in my house so Mr. Darcy and I improvised – Our recipe wasn’t as healthy so bear with me ;-).

We swapped:

  • Chicken Sausage for Pork Italian Sausage
  • The pasta for Veggie Pasta (although the one in the original recipe is nice because it is visually beautiful with the, also round, Brussel Sprouts)

and last but not least,

  • A bottle of Barbera Wine for No specified drink pairing (see bottle below)

It was SOOO good…SO good. And the warm, cozy feel of it was PERFECT for our first Holiday-season dinner ;-). And as you may remember from past posts, I am new to the cooking world so new cooks listen in…the sausage cooked nicely after I practiced patience and cooked it on a lower heat:

image

I’ve learned my lesson. I now cook meat on a lower heat for a longer amount of time. The sausage came out wonderfully

The veggie pasta was actually a nice improvisation. It tasted wonderful!

image

Although the suggested pasta looks DELISH, I had to swap for something that was labeled “veggie” because it made me feel better since we put regular sausage in ;-). It was pretty delish!

And look, it came out pretty nice! Please excuse the terrible photo quality:

image

Voila! MMMMMMMMMM

And what would a Pinterest Woman Recipe Review be without a drink pairing suggestion:

image

Cantina di Casteggio – Mr. Darcy and I LOVE Barbera and this one was on the BevMo 5cent sale…it was VERY good. Going back today to catch the end of the 5cent sale!

Happy Noming Dear Readers!
XOXO, Karen

2 thoughts on “Nom Nom Nom: Pesto Pasta with Chicken Sausage & Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Leave a Reply

