A BARKthday Celebration

Ok, some of you may think it is CRAZY to host a party for your pet. But let me tell you why this is not crazy:

  • One, Mr. Darcy and I do not have children, nor do many of our friends…but we have pets.
  • Two, life is crazy, so why shouldn’t we come up with a reason to get together and celebrate?
  • Lastly, dogs bring so much to our lives – I’m TOTALLY celebrating her and spoiling her for a night!!!

SO, as you may have read yesterday, last night was my first attempt at baking treats for the four-legged guests attending our birthday celebration – our little one NOMMED down TWO cookies! #SUCCESS! Now I just need to organize my thoughts on the party and I’d LOVE your thoughts, suggestions and tips for a doggie-friendly party:

FOOD:

APPETIZERS – I am going to do a cheese platter. My sister pinned the coolest blog post the other day and I’m TOTALLY going to do a fun cheese platter. Check out the pin for “5 Tips For Creating The Perfect Cheese Platter”: http://www.abeautifulmess.com/2012/06/5-tips-for-creating-the-perfect-cheese-platter.html

DINNER – PIZZA & SALAD: I do not want to disappoint my loving readers by not doing a home cooked meal for our guests. HOWEVER, let’s be real…A full time job does not allow for a home cooked meal every night, especially if you are having MULTIPLE people over for dinner (although I’m still throwing around the idea of doing a slow cooker thing. I should be getting my replacement pot in the mail tonight – our little one accidentally pulled it down off of the counter one night, shattering it into two pieces – so there is still a home cooked meal opportunity). If I do not get my slow cooker up and running, well, pizza & salad it is!!! I’ll definitely get one with lots of meat on it, in honor of our meat eating little one.

DESSERT – Since I made pumpkin cookies for our doggie-guests, I figured I’d make PUMPKIN Cupcakes…and why not try out this awesome weight watchers one (TWO INGREDIENTS – Classic Yellow Cake and Pumpkin): http://sweet-verbena.blogspot.com/2011/08/pumpkin-muffins.html

I am a bit skeptical of a two ingredient dish so I will most likely make cookies as well – Mr. Darcy is also not a huge fan of pumpkin. So if I make cookies, I will just cut them out with the fancy pumpkin cookie cutter to keep with the FALL theme of the party.

ENTERTAINMENT:

Our little one is going to be overly stimulated by the guests so I think a fresh new Frisbee and ball will be plenty of entertainment. However, once her cousin gets there, no human will matter. They will entertain one another. SO, for the human guests, I might actually pull out the old board games (Catch A Phrase is a crowd pleaser). The guest list is pretty much our closest friends – who are equally as dorky as I am – so board games, a good movie on in the background AND talk of sports (for the men) and the upcoming holidays (for Elizabeth and I) make for a perfect Thursday Night party. Did I mention the party is actually on our little one’s birthday? I figured no one would want to give up a weekend night for a dog’s party – BUT a fun little get together after a long day of work…PERFECT!

DÉCOR:

Since I don’t host Thanksgiving BUT I just bought a pretty Fall colored tablecloth and want to use it, I’m going to do a fancy Fall theme (gold chargers and all)…BUT to make it more doggie-appropriate I will:

Pick up a few new toys and treats for our little one. AND, since she won’t need ADDITIONAL entertainment, I will just use them as a centerpiece (instead of coffee beans, I’ll throw some toys in my candle holder for a colorful centerpiece):

Doggie toys for coffee beans (Maybe I’ll put a faux candle in…no one wants to smell warmed plastic and rubber 😉 ).

And, instead of Goody Bags, I’ll give everyone a “GOOD Girl” Treat – doggie friendly ones for our four legged guests and Pumpkin shaped rice krispie treats with chocolate drizzled on top for our two legged guests. I’ll add this little tag I just created in Microsoft PAINT to the bags and display them in a cute basket for an additional party décor!

OK, not as cute as I would have liked, BUT they will do 😉

More to come about this party, but any other ideas are GREATLY appreciated!!! Please to share! 😉

WOOF, WOOF…

XO, Karen

Our little one at only 6 weeks…still love her little butt

Leave a Reply

